My best friend is getting married tomorrow…

September 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

My best friend is getting married tomorrow. This is going to be his last day as a single man. I have truly just now as I sit here in the Vancouver Airport realized that he is taking one of the biggest steps in his life. I grew up with this guy, he was my voice of reason, my voice of logic. It was through him that I learned what making the right choice looked like. He influenced me in so many ways I can’t even begin to comprehend them all but I will try.

Eric:

You may never read this and I won’t be offended or concerned if you never do but I would like to make public the ways that you have touched my life. You are my best friend and although we are very different you helped shape the core of who I am today. Being an ear that would listen, the person that would wait patiently for me to admit that I was wrong, you never abandoned me when I was making the wrong choices. You just waited for me. Mind you, there were times that you would pipe up and say your piece. Most of the time this involved you making very rash and broad statements that generalized a lot of what I was doing. Although you may not have fully understood what I was doing, you knew it was wrong. You were the voice of reason and that is one thing I will never forget. You taught me how to be true to myself, to laugh at the simple things in life. To be happy with what I had around me. I don’t see, or talk to you near enough anymore and I will from now on make an effort to do so. You are a man of God and a brother. I love you man, I really do.

Things you did for me in my life in point form:

-Taught me how to be responsible

-Introduced me to hardcore/metal

-You were/are a role model

-Taught me to enjoy the simple things in life

-Helped shape my core values and beliefs

-You were my big brother

-Taught me how to be myself

-Always pushed me to grow

-Believed in me

-Taught me to have pride for where we came from

-Taught me how to prepare for life’s challenges

-Made me appreciate nature and the awesomeness of this world

-Showed me what a man of God should look like

-You taught me patience (cause your pretty bull headed about a few things)

You are my best friend and I am so proud of you. Nervous but proud, I know you can do this and I know you will. I hope you know that I expect your first child to call me Uncle Josh. You have been a huge influence in my life and I will never forget the crazy memories we have and have yet to make.

I love you.

-Josh

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My best friend is getting married tomorrow… at the disconnect..

meta

