Oil, Grease, and Freedom.

June 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

Today, I took my first steps to getting a motorcycle.

I haven’t done a lot of things specifically for me. I haven’t gone traveling on my own, and I haven’t had the ability to just disappear in a long time. That will hopefully all change very soon.

I never thought this would be something I would pursue. I’ve always thought motorcycles were cool, but I didn’t ride them very often as a kid. It’s only in the last 3 weeks that I’ve become interested. I don’t think it’s just a phase either. What a motorcycle encapsulates for me is freedom, the ability to go almost anywhere you want at anytime. Independence. Man and machine. Oil, grease and freedom.

It’s been a crazy month. I never thought I would start this blog back up again, and I never thought I would be in this headspace. I’m comfortably, uncomfortable. Does that make any sense? I guess what I mean is that in the last month I have been forced to grow in a lot of ways I never planned. I wasn’t sure what to make of it at first, but I’ve grown fond of facing new challenges and finding ways to overcome mental obstacles that even 2 months ago I would have faltered and slipped into a funk.

I was brought to a crossroads a month ago. A fork in the road. I had a choice of either staying with what I knew, or taking a chance. Before I knew what was happening I was being dragged off of the road I had been on for the last 3 years and seeing life in a whole different light. Essentially, it seems as if I was shown how to actually live. Regardless where this road takes me, I’ll be able to look back at that moment and know that it changed my life. I’m ready to start living now. Fuck being safe all the time, that’s not how I learn. I’ll dance with the prospect of failure as long as I grow from the experience.

A bike, a girl, and a destination. These are the things on my mind right now. A simple life. A real life.

Image

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oil, Grease, and Freedom. at the disconnect..

meta

